Posted by: Vanessa | October 6, 2010

BumGenius

As some of you may know, I’m somewhat of an eco-freak.  I recycle obsessively, use reusable grocery bags religiously,  and exclusively buy recycled/recyclable products when they’re available.  I say “somewhat,” because I’m aware that my omnivorous eating habits take their toll on the planet.  I do my best, however, to eat sustainably and organically.  I’ve been into recycling and nature conservancy since I was a kid.  So, it should go without saying that we wanted to find the best alternative to traditional landfill diapers.

Chris and I have chosen to use cloth diapers on our baby.  There are so many different varieties and systems for cloth diapering available these days.  Chris and I have almost certainly chosen to go with the BumGenius 4.0.  Since the only cloth diapering retail front in our area has recently closed its doors for good, we’re looking into meeting with a consultant from Go, Baby, Go.  My main concern is whether to go with snaps or hook and look fasteners.  Hopefully meeting with someone with experience and product samples will make the decision a little easier.

The reasons we’re most likely going with BumGenius are the huge assortment of adorable colors, affordability, quality, and ease of use.  Now they’re available in prints, too!  After years of researching cloth diapers, I’ve really come to love these. :]

p.s. I’m in no way trying to pass judgement on those who decide to use disposables.  Even if everyone were aware of how easy (and, dare I say, fun?) modern day cloth diapering can be, their lives or preferences might not facilitate their use.

Week 17 picture


Leave a comment

Categories